Movie Review: The Fault in Our Stars

While watching this movie, I got reminded of Sadness from Inside Out –  to really experience joy, one also needs to go through some emotional troughs.

And boy I was feeling a wave of happiness running through my body, with every passing frame of this movie. 

And it was Aristotelian happiness: eudemonia!

The movie is based on a book of same title – it’s a tale of two teenagers, both battling through cancer and how courageously they decide to put themselves out there – vulnerable to love, and become wiser and more stronger with their love. 

It’s a charming and humrous narrative, with big jolts of reality. 

Andi t makes you cry. I don’t remember if I’ve ever cried so much in any movie.

The characters are earnest and the soundtrack amplifies all emotions very eloquently.  

But it also makes one feel really blessed. 

One of the best movies I’ve ever seen. 

One thought on “Movie Review: The Fault in Our Stars

  1. Jason Silva says that watching a movie is the closest thing to dreaming with our eyes open, so the Aristotlian moment of eudaimonia you had is a kind of catharsis as well( you mentioned sitting with a box of tissues:). Nicely written, I liked the analogy you drew with inside out.

Leave a comment